Indian Paintbrush Book Award Book Lists

Indian Paintbrush

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Reading Council, the Indian Paintbrush Book Award provides the opportunity for Wyoming youth in grades 4-6 to select a favorite book and honor its author.

Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades 4-6:

  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors.
  • Become aware of the qualities that make a good boo.
  • To honor an author whose books Wyoming students have enjoyed.

2006-2007 Indian Paintbrush Winners

Winner: Funke, Cornelia Caroline -- Dragon Rider

1st Runner-up: Gleitzman, Morris -- Toad Rage
2nd Runner-up: Byng, Georgia -- Molly Moon's Incredible Book of Hypnotism

Past Winners of the Indian Paintbrush Award by Author or Date
(requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader)

2007-2008 Indian Paintbrush Nominees:

  • Baker, E. D. - The Frog Princess
  • Barry, Dave - Peter And The Starcatchers
  • Carey, Janet Lee - Wenny Has Wings
  • Clements, Andrew - Room One: A Mystery or Two
  • D'Lacey, Chris - The Fire Within
  • DiCamillo, Kate - The Miraculous Journey Of Edward Tulane
  • Ellis, Deborah ~ Mud City
  • Gutman, Dan - The Homework Machine
  • Harlow, Joan Hiatt - Midnight Rider
  • Kadohata, Cynthia - Cracker! : the Best Dog in Vietnam
  • Lupica, Mike - Miracle On 49th Street
  • Martin, Ann M. - A Dog's Life : The Autobiography of a Stray
  • Stewart, Paul - Beyond The Deepwoods (Edge Chronicles #1)
  • Thomasma, Kenneth - Takini : Lakota Boy Alerts Sitting Bull
  • Winkler, Henry - Niagara Falls, Or Does It? (Hank Zipzer #1)