Buckaroo Book Award


Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Reading Council, the Buckaroo Book Award will provide the opportunity for Wyoming children in grades Kindergarten through third to select favorite books they have read or have listened to and to honor the authors of these books.

Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades K-3:

  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors.
  • Become aware of the qualities of good books.
  • Accustom younger children to concepts of choice, critical reading, and voting procedures which will help them participate in choosing other book awards.
  • To honor an author whose book has been enjoyed by Wyoming children.

2006-2007 Buckaroo Award Winners:

Winner: Schachner, Judith Bryon -- Skippyjon Jones in the Dog House

1st Runner-up: Palatini, Margie -- The Sweet Tooth
2nd Runner-up: Beaumont, Karen -- I Ain't Gonna Paint No More!

Past Winners & Nominees by Author or Date
(requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader)

2007-2008 Buckaroo Award Nominees

  • Asher, Sandy -- Too Many Frogs!
  • Auch, Mary Jane -- Chickerella
  • Bruel, Nick -- Bad Kitty
  • Bryan, Sean -- A Girl and Her Gator
  • Crummel, Susan Stevens -- Ten-Gallon Bart
  • Drachman, Eric -- Ellison the Elephant
  • Edwards, Wallace -- Monkey Business
  • Fleming, Candace -- Sunny Boy! : The Life and Times of a Tortoise
  • Hatkoff, Isabella; Hatkoff, Craig; Kahumbu, Paula -- Owen & Mzee : The True Story of a Remarkable Friendship
  • Hennessy, B. G. -- The Boy Who Cried Wolf
  • Isaacs, Anne -- Pancakes for Supper!
  • Landry, Leo -- Fat Bat and Swoop
  • Reynolds, Aaron -- Chicks and Salsa
  • Van Allsburg, Chris -- Probuditi!
  • Willems, Mo -- Edwina, the Dinosaur Who Didn't Know She Was Extinct

For more information contact the Wyoming Buckaroo Book Award Committee.